Champion Date Location Notes

Mildred Burke 1937 Defeats Clara Mortenson to win World Title.
June Byers 54/08/20 Atlanta, GA 1
Penny Banner 1964 2
Slave Girl Moolah/Fabulous Moolah 1960s 3
Betty Boucher 66/09/17 Seattle, WA
Fabulous Moolah [2] 1966
Yukiko Tomoe 68/03/10 Osaka, JAPAN
Fabulous Moolah [3] 68/04/02 Hamamatsu, JAPAN
Sue Green 1976 New York
Fabulous Moolah 1976 New York
Evelyn Stevens 78/10/08 Dallas, TX
Fabulous Moolah [4] 78/10/10 Ft. Worth, TX 4
Debbie Combs 87/04/10 Kansas City, MO 5
Malia Hosaka 96/05/09 Johnson City, TN
Debbie Combs [2] 96/05/10 Fall Branch, TN Stripped of the title by NWA in 96/10.
Strawberry 00/10/14 Nashville, TN Defeats Leilani Kai; vacant in 00/11 due to injury.
Madison 02/08/23 Surrey, BC Defeats Bam Bam Bambi.

  1. The commission stops the match between Burke and Byers, strips Burke of the title, and awards it to Byers; Byers has also won a 13-woman world championship tournament in 53/06 in Baltimore, MD; Burke continues to defend WWWA World Title.

  2. Has won a battle royal to win AWA World title on 61/08/26 in Angola, IN; briefly recognized as champion by some of NWA promoters after Byers retires in 64/01.

  3. Has won a tournament on 56/09/18 in Baltimore, MD, defeating Judy Grable in final; recognized as champion by NWA after Byers retires in 64/01.

  4. WWF withdraws from NWA in 83 and buys the right of the women's world titles from Moolah; Moolah's title continues to be recognized as WWF Women's World title.

  5. Defeats Penny Mitchell to become the champion, or awarded on this day after having won a tournament in Honolulu, HI; Kansas City promotion withdraws from NWA in 87 and closes in 88.
    Go Back To NWA History