Sorry, could not change modification time of

World Wide Wrestling Federation
(1963 - March 1979)

Promotors Territory
Vince McMahon Sr.

Andre The Giant
Bruno Sammartino
Bob Backlund
Gorilla Monsoon
Pedro Morales
Tony Garea
Rick Martel
Ivan Putski
Pat Patterson
Tony Atlas
Rocky Johnson
Jay Strongbow
Billy White Wolf
Rene Goulet

Billy Graham
Ivan Koloff
Jimmy Snuka
Mr Fuji
Mr Saito
Jesse Ventura
Adian Adonis
Ernie Ladd
Ken Patera
Larry Zbyszko
Johnny Rodz
Stan Hansen
Hulk Hogan
Miguel Feliciano
Wild Samoans
Valiant Brothers
The Strongbows

Fabulous Moolah
Peggy Lee

Lou Albano
Fred Blassie
Grand Wizard
Arnold Scaaland

James Dudley

[Title Histories] [Alumni]

  • As NWA champion, Buddy Rogers' bookings were controlled by Toots Mondt, promoter in the Northeast. The other NWA promoters were dissatisfied because Mondt rarely let Rogers defend the belt outside the Northeast. Mondt and Vince McMahon Sr. wanted to keep Rogers and the NWA title, but Rogers didn't want to lose his $25,000 deposit on the belt. So Rogers lost the NWA title to Lou Thesz in Toronto on January 24, 1963.

  • Buddy Rogers was not recognized as the first WWWF champion right after losing to Thesz. Instead, Rogers was awarded the WWWF title in mid-April 1963, with the explanation that he has won a (fictitious) tournament in Rio de Janeiro. Buddy Rogers lost the title to Bruno Sammartino a month later on May 17, 1963.

  • 1971-1983, the WWF joined the NWA as a regional promotion and the WWF World title was dropped in status to the WWF title, a regional title.

  • 1979: Changed from WWWF (World Wide Wrestling Federation) to WWF (World Wrestling Federation).

  • Shortly after, the WWF phased out their North American title and replaced it with the Intercontinental title.

  • Vince Sr. passed the company to his son, Vince Jr, who renamed the company to World Wrestling Federation..